Book Manufacturers’ Institute Announces 2021 Award Winners

Posted By: Matt Baehr Awards, BMI News,

The Book Manufacturers’ Institute (BMI) has announced recipients of the Signature Award, as well as three new members to the Cased-in Club.

The honors, which will be presented Monday evening November 8th at the Awards Banquet at the Fall Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida, recognize BMI members who not only contribute to the success of their organization, but also to the continued success of the book manufacturing industry.

Matt Baehr, Executive Director of BMI, said, “I am very excited that we can get back to honoring the amazing people in our industry. Having an in-person celebration of their accomplishments, and celebrating the book industry as a whole, is something the entire association is looking forward to.”

The Signature Award, given to a BMI member who has made a valued contribution to the welfare of the industry and/or the Institute through the display of superior leadership qualities on an issue of particular concern to the industry or, for exhibiting such qualities over an extended period, will be given to Jim Fetherston of Worzalla and Dirk Hiler of Lakeside Book Company.

Jim is currently President & CEO at Worzalla in Stevens Point, Wisconsin. A print veteran, Jim as has held positions at Hess Print Solutions and RR Donnelley. A proud University of Michigan alumnus, Fetherston has been a longtime member of BMI and has served in various volunteer positions within the organization, including Board President.

Dirk started his professional career at RR Donnelley (RRD) after earning his undergraduate degree in industrial engineering at the University of Iowa. Over the last 30 years, Dirk has held numerous positions with RRD and LSC Communications, rising to the position of President of Operations of the now Lakeside Book Company. He has been a longtime contributor to the book industry and BMI, most notably working to lead the committee working on the Manufacturing Standards and Specifications for Textbooks (MSST) and supporting the educational book business in leadership roles with ACTS.

Membership to the Cased-in Club is awarded each year to BMI members who have served in the industry for more than 20 years and have worked with the BMI with distinction. The 2021 recipients of this privilege are: Bill Lee of Crown Van Gelder; Bill Rojack of Midland Paper; and Carle Shotwell, most recently of American Fiber and Finishing.

When asked about the awards, Joe Upton, President of BMI and Past Chairperson of the Awards Committee, said, “It’s wonderful to be back in-person to recognize the many wonderful contributions these individuals have made to our industry and to celebrate what brings us together, printed books.”